Personal Injury: Answers To Frequently Asked Questions
Suffering a serious injury can be overwhelming and confusing. If you or a loved one were injured, the personal injury attorneys of Leeseberg & Valentine can help you through each step of your claim. We have recovered many multimillion-dollar verdicts on behalf of our past clients. With more than 75 years of combined experience, our team can provide the insight you need. Below are answers to some frequently asked questions about personal injury claims. If you have additional questions, call us at 855-445-6266 or contact our team online to schedule a free initial case consultation. Located in Columbus, we serve clients throughout Ohio.
How do I know if I have a personal injury claim in Ohio?
Not all injuries result in a personal injury claim. We will examine the facts of your case to determine the at-fault party and whether you have suffered economic/noneconomic damages. Once we have this information, our attorneys can advise you whether you should file a legal claim.
What are the most frequently awarded legal damages for a personal injury claim?
When you file a personal injury claim, you can pursue compensation for both economic and noneconomic damages, including:
- Medical bills
- Lost wages
- Loss of future earning capacity
- Rehabilitation costs
- Property damage
- Pain and suffering
- Loss of enjoyment of life
- Loss of consortium
Is there a limit to the amount of money I can recover with my personal injury claim?
Ohio law caps the amount of noneconomic damages you can recover in your personal injury claim, unless you suffered catastrophic injuries (such as permanent deformities, loss of a limb, or loss of an organ system). There is no limitation on your economic damages (lost wages, property damage, medical bills, etc.). If you did not suffer a catastrophic injury, you can recover noneconomic damages up to a maximum of $250,000 or three times the amount of your economic damages (whichever amount is higher). However, a single plaintiff cannot recover more than $350,000 in noneconomic damages.
How long is the statute of limitations to file a personal injury claim in Ohio?
If you were injured in Ohio, you typically have two years from the date of the incident to file a personal injury claim. There are some very limited exceptions to this rule. Speak with a personal injury attorney to learn the statute of limitations for your case’s specific circumstances.
Who would I sue if I am hit by a negligent truck driver?
If you were hit by a negligent truck driver, their employer would be liable for your damages. Trucking companies and their insurers are experienced at fighting accident claims. A personal injury attorney will thoroughly investigate the facts behind your crash to establish fault and determine the source of the driver’s negligence. We recommend contacting a lawyer as soon as possible so that evidence is not lost or destroyed.
What is a good settlement offer?
It is impossible to determine whether a settlement offer is good or bad without first evaluating the facts of your case. Whether a settlement offer is fair is based on the severity of your injuries, the costs you have already incurred, and your expected future economic and emotional costs. However, settlement offers are also impacted by the facts of your case and any difficulty in establishing liability or that your damages were caused by the accident itself. Do not accept a settlement offer until you speak with a personal injury lawyer. Once you accept a settlement, you lose your ability to seek additional damages from the negligent party.
How much does it cost to hire a personal injury attorney?
Personal injury cases are accepted on a contingency basis. This means that you do not owe Leeseberg & Valentine any attorney fees unless we successfully recover compensation on your behalf. If we recover damages, our firm’s legal fees will be calculated as a percentage of your overall compensation. We can explain this in more detail during your free initial case consultation.
What should I do after a car accident?
Take these steps after a motor vehicle accident to protect your well-being and potential personal injury claim:
- Seek emergency medical care if needed.
- Call 911 and file a police report. Ask for a copy of the report.
- Take photos of property damage and the accident scene.
- Obtain the names, phone numbers, and insurance information of the other driver(s). Take a photo of their driver’s license.
- If you did not receive emergency medical care, visit a medical professional for a full evaluation. Make sure they document all injuries and ask for a copy of their report.
- Call a personal injury attorney to determine whether you have a personal injury claim.
- Only call your auto insurance company once you have spoken with a lawyer.
How do I know if I have a traumatic brain injury?
You may not show symptoms of a traumatic brain injury for days or even weeks after a motor vehicle accident. Carefully monitor your health and visit a medical provider if you notice any of the following signs that could indicate a serious head injury:
- Changes in sleep habits
- Blurred vision
- Light and sound sensitivity
- Memory problems
- Feelings of anxiety or depression
- Changes in mood
If you have any additional questions, call Leeseberg & Valentine at 855-445-6266 to discuss your personal injury claim.